antispamsniper.com Forum Index antispamsniper.com
The reliable anti-spam protection
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch     ProfileProfile   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 

How to setup SniperSync Server?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    antispamsniper.com Forum Index -> General questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
V_P



Joined: 02 Nov 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 6:43 am    Post subject: How to setup SniperSync Server? Reply with quote

I have home network for 4 PCs with TheBAT + AntiSpam Sniper installed on each PC. What should I do to set up SniperSync Server?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vetaltm
Author


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

- Install the server on some machine:
http://antispamsniper.com/dl1/sync/snipersync.exe

- Enter the server address and port in Synchronization settings, on Options tab of plug-in configuration window. The default server port is 17080. If the server is installed locally, enter 127.0.0.1 as host name.

- The synchronization can run in background. The plug-in will connect to SniperSync automatically, using specified interval. Also it is possible to execute the synchronization manually, using the appropriate button in Synchronization page. By default the plug-in downloads the updates incrementally, i.e. it downloads only changes since the last synchronization. Answering No in a message box displayed before starting the manual synchronization will make the plug-in to download all data from server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
V_P



Joined: 02 Nov 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for fast answer!

Should I set up Sync Server on each PC in the network or only on one PC?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vetaltm
Author


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a server that allows sharing the filtering information between plug-ins. So it is enough to have a single instance of SniperSync on one PC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
V_P



Joined: 02 Nov 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have setup Server Sync on one PC (network address is 10.0.20.2 and network name 'Computer_1') and turned it ON.
On other PC I entered SpamSniper setup window; pressed 'Syncronization' button and typed \\Computer_1 in the Address window. Then I pressed 'Syncronize' button and got 'Service unavailable' error message.
Then I tried to type local network address '10.0.20.2'. Same error message.
What's wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vetaltm
Author


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 650

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is necessary to modify the firewall rules to allow the inbound TCP connections on the host with server, and outbound TCP connections to the server port on client machines. Use IP address as a host name to avoid name resolving issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
V_P



Joined: 02 Nov 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you! Now it works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    antispamsniper.com Forum Index -> General questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group